Untitled

You’re in every sunset and sunrise
You ordain each day’s start and end
You’re in my every breath that which yours began
From nothing, you made this woman

You’re in the silence,
You take me when the quiet gets loud
You’re in between the cracks of my heart
You heal and restore what no one can

You fill me up at my emptiest,
You chase me at my most scared
You’re here when I thought you’ve gone
You’re in the darkness where I doubt your presence

You’re in the light I cover my eyes from
You’re in every thought of my loved ones of me
You’re in every kind gesture and disciplining
You’re in places I don’t see

Your spirit lives in me
You died that you may never leave
What have I done to deserve your holy presence?
What work did I do to deserve a life with you?

In my fallen nature you loved me, still
At my worst, you sent your son for me
There is nothing man can do to be forgiven
But you did, through Christ, you did

Your wrath had to be upon Him
That your love may fill earth again
That your children may be back to your arms
You run and clothe them, took the steps they should have taken

Remind me of the good things,
Bad places you delivered me from
Speak louder that I may hear
What you’re trying to make me reckon

I try and fail, O God
At times I ask why I even try
And yet it’s in you I have found reason
I can keep trying because with you I can

Leave a Reply

